Introductory

I am a member of several societies and every so often they send me their latest magazine or journal. And I’m afraid to say that every time they do, I put said magazine or journal onto the pile that I have yet to read.

And guess what, it has now become quite a big pile, and I’d be lying if I said I hadn’t thought of throwing each and every magazine and journal into the recycling and starting over again.

I would absolutely do that but it seems such a senseless action. I’m a member of that society for a reason, and I don’t want to be the kind of person who forgets their love for the person, group or cause, who buys membership of something and then does nothing with it. Besides, the writers will have worked so hard on their articles and surely deserve to be read.

The fact is, though, the pile has got too big and I will never have the time to read every magazine or journal from page to page.

In light of that, I’ve decided to pursue a middle course. I’m going to work my way through the pile, magazine by magazine, journal by journal; I’m going to open each one and read perhaps just one article in each – more if there are several that look to be of special interest. Then, and only then, will I be dispose of the magazine or journal.

And as I have a blog, I’ll mention any articles of interest here in case what I have read speaks to anyone else. That way, I hope, we all win.

Here is the pile. Let’s start reading!

 

This entry was posted in Subscription Journals and Magazines. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

