Mark to the Max

I have had two powerful imaginative experiences this week.

bridget_joness_babyLast Monday, I saw Bridget Jones’s Baby. Colin Firth as Mark Darcy! Man, I wish I was him. Or could talk like him. So much gravitas in his voice. Renee Zellweger as Britain’s most famous singleton is not so bad either.

I had been waiting to see this picture since last summer when I discovered that it was being filmed, and I am delighted, overjoyed, and plain relieved to say that it didn’t disappoint. Lots of jokes – funny, vulgar, slapstick, allusive and the rest – great performances by everyone who appeared on the screen, and Colin Firth looking dashing in a waistcoat.

After the woeful self-plagiarism of Star Wars: The Force Awakens and the lack of narrative progress in Jason Bourne I really needed a positive big-time film experience and on Monday, Bridget Jones delivered. Will it do so when I watch the film again, either in the cinema or DVD?

***

life_is_strangeThis afternoon, I finished Chapter Three of Life is Strange. I have been playing this download-only game on and off for the last few months. After today, however, I suspect I will be playing the final two chapters rather more quickly.

What an ending it has! I’m not going to reveal it in case you are currently, or are intending, to play it (if you aren’t, I thoroughly recommend it to you) but I will explain quickly the outline of the story.

You play an American high schooler named Max(ine) who attends a prestigious school on the west coast of America. One day, Max discovers that she has gained the power to rewind time. Meanwhile, a girl named Rachel Amber has gone missing, while another one – Chloe – re-enters Max’s life. Re-enters because the two used to be close-friends before Max left her home-town to attend her school. It turns out that Rachel was Chloe’s best friend. As friends do, Max decides to help Chloe find her. Easier said than done. Meanwhile, the weather is changing in an uncomfortably (!) apocalyptic fashion.

That is the story. At the end of Chapter Three Max averts a catastrophic event in Chloe’s life only to seemingly cause another one. When I realised what was happening I drew my breath in a way that I don’t think I have with any other game. It was such a swerve. As I write this I still can’t quite believe what has happened. And I certainly don’t want to believe that things will remain as they are. I have to start Chapter Four and fast to try and correct things. The only problem is, given how Chapter Three ended, I don’t think it will be possible. I don’t want to think about that. Think Colin Think Colin Think Colin

Picture Credits
Bridget Jones’s Baby poster – Wikipedia
Life is Strange picture – Kotaku

This entry was posted in Film, Video Games and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

