A Thought Out of Time

Turning out of Earl’s Court Road I came on to Cromwell Road, and as I walked down it it suddenly occurred to me how wide the street was and how large the buildings. And as strange as this seems, it felt like I had never seen either before. 

The feeling immediately put me in mind of an Anglo-Saxon poem where the poet talks about the ruined buildings left behind by the Romans. The poet doesn’t know who built them but even in the days of their decay and desolation they seem very grand to him; so much so that he thinks they must have been built by giants.

For a brief moment on Cromwell Road, I forgot every wide road and large building I have ever seen before and wondered if this one had also been built by giants. It was simultaneously an unnerving but rather exciting feeling.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

