Reading Hogarth – An Update

Last December I committed myself to reading all of David Hogarth’s published works as listed on Wikipedia (here) by June of this year. Well, June is very nearly over so how did I do?

With thanks to Wikipedia for the use of its bibliography, here’s how:

  • Devia Cypria: notes of an archaeological journey in Cyprus in 1888
  • The wandering scholar in the Levant
  • Philip and Alexander of Macedon: two essays in biography
  • The Nearer East [Currently Reading]
  • The Penetration of Arabia: a record of the development of Western knowledge concerning the Arabian peninsula
  • The Archaic Artemisia of Ephesus
  • Ionia and the East; six lectures delivered before the University of London
  • Accidents of an antiquary’s life
  • The Ancient East
  • The Balkans
  • Hittite seals, with particular reference to the Ashmolean collection 
  • Arabia (aka A History of Arabia)
  • Kings of the Hittites
  • The Life of Charles M. Doughty

As you can see, I still have a long way to go! I don’t mind too much, though, for although it is disappointing to have missed the target, I know that I have been reading his books very regularly through the first six months of the year so I am happy with that.

However, I do feel that I could have read more, so I hereby renew my commitment to reading all Hogarth’s works, from now on at a rate of one a month. This might not sound much but depending on the length of the books I have yet to read it could be a challenge: Hogarth’s text is very readable but doesn’t flow so it takes time to read and some of his books are quite long – 250+ pages.

As I write this post, I am drawing to the end of The Nearer East. Next up will be The Penetration of Arabia. It will be good to open that one as I will be able to do so literally. I have had to read e-book versions of The Nearer East and Devia Cypria due to my library not having copies of their own. To that end, I am very grateful indeed to the Archive website (here is its copy of The Nearer East) for keeping uploaded copies of its own.

NOTA BENE
While writing this post, I remembered that last year I received a comment on my Alexander blog advising me that several of Hogarth’s books – including the Devia Cypria and Nearer East had been re-issued by the Cambridge Library Collection. You can read the comment here and the CLC’s blog post on Hogarth here. If I had remembered this earlier I might have purchased my own copies but I’m still very grateful to the Archive website and its uploaders.

This entry was posted in David Hogarth, Nineteenth Century History, Twentieth Century History and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reading Hogarth – An Update

  1. Jen says:

    I can’t resist. “The Penetration of Arabia”?! Soooooany possible jokes that would make Ptollers proud……. After blushing of course

    Like

    • M J Mann says:

      So vulgar, so very vulgar. Why can’t it be 1812 again. We shouldn’t have stopped at burning the White House but pushed deeper. #pusheddeeper

      Like

      • Jen says:

        I didn’t think you lot were allowed to make fun of your royals?! Ah well, I shall be magnanimous and remember my affection for you outweighs the need for a head on a platter lol

        Like

Leave a Reply

