A Week With Words (15)

This will be a short post as I am afraid I hardly read at all all through this week. Last weekend, I picked up The Iliad and got to the end of Book II, and read a very long ode by Pindar (Pythian 4) but these books have not met my eyes since. I haven’t even opened up The Nearer East since Monday. I probably shouldn’t say that it is now two weeks since I last caught up with events in Middle Earth.

It hasn’t all been doom and gloom, though, for I have been reading Cairo. This book will probably dominate my time from now on as I am very eager to finish it. Not because I like or dislike the book but because on Wednesday I went to a talk about about T E Lawrence, given by Anthony Sattin who has written a book about his early years (Young Lawrence). I bought a copy and want want want to get on with it. As I have more than enough books on the go at the moment, though, I am going to try and finish Cairo first.

On Going Books

The Iliad of Homer
tr. Richmond Lattimore
As mentioned, I read this last weekend. In so doing I got to the end of the long Catalogue of Ships and whizzed through the very brief list of Trojan commanders. I don’t think it even mentioned Hector.

Pindar’s Odes
tr. Anthony Verity
I do like how the odes are not simply paeans of praise but can include warnings to the victors not to get ahead of themselves! Poets having to write poems for people in order to earn a living is not right but if they must its good that they have – or that Pindar had – the ability to really speak to his patron.

Young Lawrence
Anthony Sattin
No yet. Put it down, Malcolm!

Cairo
Artemis Cooper
Randolph Churchill, the Prime Minister’s son, has turned up and is making a real nuisance of himself. Berating the staff of a men-only club for not letting women into the lobby? What’s that all about. Mind you, as can happen, Churchill’s histrionics got things changed. Well, kind of. After his outburst, the club allowed women in just as long as they were signed in by a member. Undesirable women had to be kept out at all costs. I’m sure there were no scoundrels among the men!

This entry was posted in Ancient Greek Poetry, Twentieth Century History and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

