Power Reading Mary Renault

Yesterday, I received what for a library user can only be described as The E-mail of Doom: Someone has asked to borrow a book that I have taken out, please could I return it?

Initial reaction Gah! It’s not a new book – why does someone want it?
Second Reaction Gah! It’s not a new book – why does someone want it?
Third Reaction Gah! It’s not a new book – why does someone want it?

So much for the stages of grief.

It’s not all bad news, though. Thankfully, I don’t have to take it back immediately. I’ve got till the 29th of Jan.

The book in question is The Persian Boy by Mary Renault (Longman 1972), which I am reading for a Facebook Reading Group to which I belong (take a look here). The group is currently on chapters 8 and 9 (of 28). I am currently on Chapter 11 – page 119 of 410. I will be very impressed and surprised if I have the time to make it to the end by next Thursday but I shall give it a shot. Nothing is impossible to him who will try, after all*.

I will report back in a week’s time to let you know how my power reading got on.

* This is supposedly a quote by Alexander although I’ve not idea of its source. I don’t recall seeing it in any of the major histories of his life.

This entry was posted in Twentieth Century Literature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

